11 New Countries Eligible for US H-2A and H-2B visas

New York City

The US government will add 11 new countries to the list of eligible nationalities for H-2A and H-2B visas this year.

The countries to be included to the scheme are Barbados, Belize, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Grenada, Haiti, Jamaica, Madagascar, Portugal, Sweden. This change was announced on 18th January, allowing US companies to hire foreign workers from the eligible countries for temporary jobs.

The full list of eligible countries:

Argentina Hungary Peru
Australia Iceland Philippines
Austria Ireland Poland
Barbados Israel Romania
Belize Italy Samoa
Brazil Jamaica Serbia
Bulgaria Japan Slovakia
Canada Kiribati Slovenia
Chile Latvia Solomon Islands
Costa Rica Lithuania South Africa
Croatia Macedonia South Korea
Dominican Republic Mexico Spain
Ecuador Moldova Switzerland
El Salvador Montenegro Thailand
Estonia Nauru Tonga
Ethiopia Netherlands Turkey
Fiji Nicaragua Tuvalu
Grenada New Zealand Ukraine
Guatemala Norway United Kingdom
Haiti Panama Uruguay
Honduras Papua New Guinea Vanuatu

The H-2A visa covers the agricultural type of works, while the H-2B visa covers the non-agricultural sector and is usually used for a number of lower-skilled vacancies. H-2A / H-2B visas are valid for an initial period of one year. Extensions may be granted to a maximum of three years in total.

San Fransisco Bridge

Employers can apply for both H-2A and H-2B visas to employ overseas applicants from an eligible country for temporary work only. Before that, they need to apply for labour certification, showing that no US citizen has been suitable for the position.

The new change means that this temporary work program is currently available to 63 countries.

Visa First is a leading international immigration consulting company. We can help you apply for your US visa fast and hassle-free today.

If you found this information useful, please share 🙂


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *