How to apply for a second Australian Working Holiday Visa in 2012

Australian flag

Since 2005 Australia made it is possible for Working Holiday Makers to apply for a second visa. There is however one very important requirement. People who want to become a second visa must prove that they did a “specified work” in an “eligible regional Australian area” for a minimum of 3 months. How is “specified work” defined and what kind of activities it includes?

Prospective working holidaymakers can check this on the Australian department of immigration and citizenship website. The list of specified work for a Second Working Holiday Visa originally consisted of only agricultural types of work, but it was later expanded The current list has five main categories of work.

Here is the current list with the approved categories for the year 2012:

  • plant and animal cultivation
  • fishing and pearling
  • tree farming and felling
  • mining
  • construction

People, who want to apply for a second visa can use as a proof the so-called Form 1263 (Working Holiday visa: Employment verification).

It is crucial that all of the provided data is correct. It is a common procedure that Australian immigration authorities contact third parties in order to check the veracity of the information in the application documents for a second Working Holiday Visa.

Another important requirement for prospective working holidaymakers is that they need to have done work in an eligible regional area.

According to the latest regional postcode list published by the Australian Department of Immigration and Citizenship, eligible areas are the following:

Australian Capital TerritoryThe Australian Capital Territory is not classified as part of regional Australia.
New South Wales2311 to 23122328 to 24112420 to 24902536 to 25512575 to 2594

2618 to 2739

2787 to 2898

Note: Excludes Sydney, Newcastle, the Central Coast and Wollongong.

Northern TerritoryAll of Northern Territory is classified as part of regional Australia.
Queensland4124 to 4125413342114270 to 427242754280



4307 to 4499



4515 to 4519

4522 to 4899

Note: Excludes the Greater Brisbane area and the Gold Coast

South AustraliaAll of South Australia is classified as part of regional Australia.
TasmaniaAll of Tasmania is classified as part of regional Australia.
Victoria31393211 to 33343340 to 34243430 to 36493658 to 37493753





3778 to 3781




3810 to 3909

3921 to 3925

3945 to 3974


3981 to 3996

Note: Excludes Melbourne metropolitan area.

Western Australia6041 to 60446083 to 60846121 to 61266200 to 6799Note: Excludes Perth and surrounding areas.

Visa First is one of the leading Working Holiday Visa consultants.

We can assess your application and help you to arrange your Second Working Holiday Visa.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *